End of Year Teacher Tips
Wow, it’s getting to the end of the year already, congratulations on all of your hard work!
We really hope you and your families are enjoying using Storypark at your service. To continue to make things as easy as possible for you throughout the holiday season, we’ve put together some handy tips and information.
Children leaving the centre?
To archive a child who is no longer enrolled at your service, just go to the main Children page, find their profile tile and click the drop-down arrow at the top right. From there you will see an option to Archive Child. When you do this, they will immediately be taken off the main Children page. Instead, their name will appear on the Archived tab of the Children page. Their tile will remain there indefinitely unless an admin parent deletes the child’s profile entirely from Storypark. If this happens, centre admins will be sent an email to inform them. You will then have 7 days to export a copy of the child’s portfolio.
Note: If your learning service in Australia is using Storypark Manage, child profiles need to be archived there, rather than in Storypark.
How do we keep the records of archived children?
You can export a child’s portfolio anytime, either when they are still active at your centre or after they have been archived. This allows you to keep a digital file of all their Stories and Child Notes.
Once a child is archived, they are removed from your service, so you can no longer access their stories or add to their profile within Storypark. Exporting their files means you can still access this information externally. This means you can now use that space on your centre’s billing plan, for a new child profile.
What about staff changes?
If you have staff who are leaving, they can be removed from your service’s Storypark account easily. Simply go to the main Teachers page, click the drop-down arrow on their profile tile and select Remove. This means they will no longer have any access to your service.
Pro tip: If any of your staff are leaving, ensure they share their plans with at least one admin at the centre to ensure they can still be accessed, edited and shared after the author is no longer at the centre. They should also publish any draft or pending Stories before being removed. Here are recommendations for removing educators from Storypark
As for new staff, just send an invite to their email address to welcome them on board. It is important to set up new educators with their own individual email addresses. This allows them to have their own account and portfolio. Giving new staff access to a previous staff member’s account would mean the previous staff member would lose access to their own portfolio and is not in line with best privacy and security practices. Here are more recommendations for welcoming new educators to Storypark.
Taking time off for a holiday?
If you are having some much deserved time off, you may want to turn off your Storypark notifications during your break. You can select which posts you do or don’t want to receive notification for in your notification settings. Just remember to turn them back on when you return!
Will we lose stories or content we’ve created?
Stories and Child Notes are part of a child’s profile so you will no longer have access to these after archiving a child, other than through their exported portfolio.
If an educator wishes to keep any of the stories they have written as an example of their work, they can simply duplicate the story and change who is selected in the story from a child’s name to their own teacher portfolio. The duplicated story then stays in their account, under their portfolio, even if the child is removed or the educator leaves the centre.
Plans stay at your service. However, if any archived children are tagged or their child stories/notes are linked in a plan, their names will disappear and any links will be greyed out.
Routine records stay at your service even after children are removed.
Children or educators moving rooms?
You can change a room for any child or educator, just click edit next to the room name and tick who you want to be included in that room.
What do family or guardians need to do?
As long as a family member has accepted your invitation to their child’s profile, they will have free access to it for as long as they want. They can continue to add their own content and invite others to the child’s profile, even after that child’s profile has been archived. They can also export a copy of their child’s profile if they’d like a digital copy of all their child’s Stories and Child Notes. We have a resource you can share with families explaining what they need to do when their child leaves your learning service.
Useful ideas for the end of year Community Posts
Depending on how your centre operates over the holiday season, here are some ideas of community posts you could share with your families:
– Encourage families to share moments and photos of their holidays or celebrations
– Share the dates and times the centre will open
– Ask parents to let you know when their child will be returning in the new year
– Share ideas and YouTube videos of activities they can do with their child over the break
– Introduce new staff to your learning community and let families know about any staffing changes
– Going to the beach or bush during the holidays? Suggest families and children collect natural resources for the centre
– Farewell children going off to school
Taking time off for a holiday?
If you are having some much deserved time off, you may want to turn off your Storypark notifications during your break. You can select which posts you do or don’t want to receive notifications for in your Notification Settings. Just remember to turn them back on when you return.
Do you have any end of year tips that work well in your centre? Feel free to share them in the comments below!
To make your work a little easier, download and print this checklist and pin it up in your office as a visual reminder to help.